Skip to content

The One Where We Make Halloween Decorations!

November 2, 2011

I’m participating in my first Pinterest Challenge from over at Young House Love and hopefully it will spur me to blog a bit more. I’ve been super busy planning the wedding and working and blogging just somehow has taken a backseat.

Monday was our first Halloween in our first house and we didn’t really know what to expect.

Because we live in a townhouse community (and there are hundreds of houses), there could have been tons and tons of kids. We bought lots of candy and got all ready to dish it out. First though, we started with decorating the outside.

I really liked this idea here (and also all over the web) which is on my Pinterest “Make” board. It was simple and quick and would get the job done.

 

So, I decided to try and see what happened when I made my own! I went to Michaels and got acrylic paint (in about 5 colors + glaze) – it was on sale for $0.77/each. We bought the jars at Michael’s too, and they were $1.29/small ones and $1.99/larger one. I painted the base layer color – it has to be thin enough for the light to shine through – and let them dry overnight. The next day I tried drawing on faces with a foam brush in black paint. That didn’t work so well, so I ended up going over the black mistakes with a Sharpie. We ended up with 3 Pumpkins, 1 Vampire, and 1 Frankenstein. I forgot I wanted to try a ghost too! Boo. There’s always next year.

Here’s what we ended up with :

(sorry for the lame quality, I took it with my iPhone)

This is what two of them looked like lit up. As you can see, the pumpkins turned out great. We just dropped some LED candles inside so they would be safe all night if kids hit them with their costumes.

The vampire was a little too dark and opaque and the light didn’t shine through the face. Oh well! We will try better next time.. we’re planning on making some for Christmas too. Snowmen and Reindeer maybe :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 2:39 pm

    I think they turned out cute! Thanks so much for the shout out! :)

    • November 2, 2011 5:42 pm

      Thanks! I saw the ones you made and thought they were too cute. Love your blog :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

